Understanding The Truth About A First-Offense DUI

Most people never suspect they will be charged with a DUI in their lifetime. Suddenly you have been arrested and are facing a number of possible criminal and administrative penalties. You should understand the truth about first-offense DUIs and how to minimize the impact of a charge.

Even first-time DUI offense penalties are severe in Oregon. You could face anywhere from 48 hours to a year in jail, or 80 hours of community service. You must pay for fines, which can be thousands of dollars depending upon your BAC when arrested.

You may have your license suspended for 90 days. Under Oregon's implied consent laws, your license can be suspended for a year if you refused a chemical test. Contact us within 10 days of your arrest to preserve your driving privileges. At Mario F. Riquelme & L. Todd Wilson Partners At Elliott, Riquelme & Wilson LLP, we are tenacious advocates for our clients, and we will help you mitigate or even dismiss your criminal charges.

Uncovering Alternative Options

With the help of an attorney, a first-time DUI charge can have a minimal impact on your life. We will analyze the circumstances of your arrest and help you determine the best legal strategy. Our innovative thinkers seek alternative options whenever possible. We may take your case to trial or advise you to plead guilty/no contest.

Better yet, you may qualify for a third option: The DUII diversion program. This program allows you to complete a one-year program set by a judge that when completed will cause your case to be dismissed. This program is an excellent alternative for some clients facing their first DUI charge. We can advocate on your behalf in court for a fresh start with this program.

Get Started With A DUI Defense Lawyer

Contact our office today, located in Bend, to schedule a consultation with an experienced attorney. We are prepared to answer your questions and get you started in the right direction. Fill out our online contact form or call 541-323-2013.